Legal Holidays

When a legal holiday falls on a Sunday, the legal holiday is observed and UW System is closed on the Monday following the legal holiday.

Eligible employees are granted eight hours of floating legal holiday when: (a) a legal holiday falls on a Saturday or (b) a legal holiday falls on a Sunday and the following Monday is also a legal holiday.

Current · Historical

The State of Wisconsin grants nine days of paid legal holidays per calendar year to eligible employees.

2023 Legal Holidays When Observed
New Year's Day, January 1 Monday, January 2 (Observed)
Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Third Monday in January Monday, January 16
Memorial Day, Last Monday in May Monday, May 29
Independence Day, July 4 Tuesday, July 4
Labor Day, First Monday in September Monday, September 4
Thanksgiving, Fourth Thursday in November Thursday, November 23
Christmas Eve, December 24 Sunday, December 24 (Floating Holiday)
Christmas, December 25 Monday, December 25
New Year's Eve, December 31 Sunday, December 31 (Floating Holiday)
.
2024 Legal Holidays When Observed
New Year's Day, January 1 Monday, January 1
Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Third Monday in January Monday, January 15
Memorial Day, Last Monday in May Monday, May 27
Independence Day, July 4 Thursday, July 4
Labor Day, First Monday in September Monday, September 2
Thanksgiving, Fourth Thursday in November Thursday, November 28
Christmas Eve, December 24 Tuesday, December 24
Christmas, December 25 Wednesday, December 25
New Year's Eve, December 31 Tuesday, December 31

University Staff use of Floating Holiday Time

Floating holiday time can be used any time during the calendar year in which it is earned. January 1 floating holiday cannot be used until the year it is earned. Legal and floating holiday hours should be used in the calendar year in which they are granted. There are no provisions that allow University Staff employees to carryover floating holiday time into the next calendar year. Thus, individuals should use their floating holiday time before using vacation time.

Faculty, Academic Staff and Limited Appointees use of Floating Holiday Time

Floating holiday time can be used any time during the fiscal year in which it is earned. This means that a 'January 1' floating holiday can be used anytime in the fiscal year it is earned. Unused floating holiday time is lost after June 30. Thus, individuals should use their floating holiday time before using vacation time.