Current | Historical

2016-2017 Legal Holidays

The State of Wisconsin grants nine days of paid legal holidays per calendar year to eligible employees. These provisions are covered in the State Statutes Chapter 230.35, in each union contract and in the State of Wisconsin Compensation Plan.

2016 Legal Holidays When Observed
New Year's Day, January 1 Friday, January 1
Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Third Monday in January Monday, January 18
Memorial Day, Last Monday in May Monday, May 30
Independence Day, July 4 Monday, July 4
Labor Day, First Monday in September Monday, September 5
Thanksgiving, Fourth Thursday in November Thursday, November 24
Christmas Eve, December 24 Saturday, December 24 (Floating Holiday)
Christmas, December 25 Monday, December 26
New Year's Eve, December 31 Saturday, December 31 (Floating Holiday)

Note: 2016 is a leap year, with the addition of Monday, February 29.

2017 Legal Holidays When Observed
New Year's Day, January 1 Monday, January 2
Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Third Monday in January Monday, January 16
Memorial Day, Last Monday in May Monday, May 29
Independence Day, July 4 Tuesday, July 4
Labor Day, First Monday in September Monday, September 4
Thanksgiving, Fourth Thursday in November Thursday, November 23
Christmas Eve, December 24 Sunday, December 24 (Floating Holiday)
Christmas, December 25 Monday, December 25
New Year's Eve, December 31 Sunday, December 31 (Floating Holiday)

Legal Holiday Notes

If the legal holidays of January 1, July 4 or December 25 fall on a Sunday, University offices are closed on the following day (Monday) and the holiday is observed on that Monday.

If any of the other legal holidays fall on a regularly scheduled day off (such as Saturday or Sunday) employees are granted floating holiday time.

University Staff use of Floating Holiday Time

Floating holiday time can be used any time during the calendar year in which it is earned. January 1 floating holiday cannot be used until the year it is earned. Legal and floating holiday hours should be used in the calendar year in which they are granted. There are no provisions that allow classified employees to carryover floating holiday time into the next calendar year. Thus, individuals should use their floating holiday time before using vacation time.

Unclassified use of Floating Holiday Time

Floating holiday time can be used any time during the fiscal year in which it is earned. This means that a 'January 1' floating holiday can be used anytime in the fiscal year it is earned. Unused floating holiday time is lost after June 30. Thus, individuals should use their floating holiday time before using vacation time.